top of page

Moving Past the Hurt

Forgiveness gives you peace, forgiveness humbles you, forgiveness heals you, forgiveness grows you and forgiveness helps you. Forgiveness is hard. 

True peace takes place when you are not worried about anything or anyone. True peace takes place when you are not afraid of anyone, you are not concerned with what others think or say about you (the good & the bad). True peace takes place when you are able to sleep peacefully at night. True peace takes place when you are able to rest in God knowing that your heart desires to live for him and when you are only concerned with what he thinks about you. True peace can only take place with God. The more we talk to him and align our lives with his word, the more peace we will have. Because of our flesh and human nature, we won't always live in the truest form of this peace but these moments will be short lived! Peace brings forth a 

calmness. 

It is humbling to ask for forgiveness yet it’s hard at the same time. Don’t let pride stand in the way.

Having a humble spirit means putting yourself aside, laying down your own importance in order to show others your imperfections. A humble soul is pure, genuwine and honest. It really takes a lot of self-awareness and growth to humble yourself and admit your wrongs especially when you do not feel you were wrong. It takes a lot of self-awareness and self growth to forgive others.  Being humble has helped me grow within myself and has helped me remain meek and not arrogant. Humbling ourselves to forgive is not as easy as it sounds. The word of God says " A man's pride will bring him low; but honor shall uphold the humble in spirit" Proverbs 29:23. One of my favorite reminders about humility is found in 1 Peter 5:6 " humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time." As I live for God, remaining humble is an important position as I carry out my calling here on earth. Humbleness is allowing me to admit my wrongdoings and ask for forgiveness from others. If I have unforgiveness in my heart regardless of the "who's right, who's wrong attitude" I will not be able to grow in God and will be living my life in contrast to his word. I am not a “know it all” therefore if someone pulls my coat tail,  I can always have an open ear to hear their perspective- doesn’t mean I have to agree but I can hear them out to understand their way of thinking. 

Forgiveness allows your soul to heal. When someone hurts you physically, mentally or emotionally you feel as if you have a tangible reason to hate, or repay that person however, that only puts a dent in your heart which prevents you from entering into your peace. When you hold onto the wrong doings of others and carry them with you, you are allowing yourself to give others the power to control you, however, when you release these hurts and decide to forgive them you release the control and power they have over you. 

The more you forgive others the more you are able to help others. This growth is rewarding because you are able to step into a place of service. Helping others see the importance of forgiveness is helping heal this world one person at a time. The more you forgive the eaiser it becomes. One of the things I learned about forgiveness is that it magnifies my wrong doings. From one imperfect being to another forgiveness has allowed me to see how imperfect I am and how I have no right to hold others accountable for their wrong doings, imperfections or lack of knowledge. Forgiveness within itself is the best teacher. 

When you forgive others it causes others to sit in their own thoughts and they will come to realize that they are no longer hurting you. As hurt people hurt people; healed people heal people. There is so much healing in forgiveness and it's not always the healing for you but the healing for others. 

Forgiveness allows people to be human and forgiveness for me is a reminder that I am not perfect therefore I should remain humble and continue to ask for fogiveness when I  know or feel I have done something wrong. I am going through life to live a life pleasing to God. I am living my life to be kind to others, tenderhearted forgiving others just as Christ has forgiven me (Ephesians 4:32). Matthew 6:15 says " if you forgive not men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses." These scriptures are continous motivators for me to always have a forgiving heart and compassion towards others. Jesus said “forgive them Father for they know not what they do” as he hung from the cross!!! Lord, I pray I can have this type of forgiveness in my heart!!  

 Because we are not robots we are unable to forgive and forget. There is no way I can erase something from my memory especially a hurtful moment. What true forgiveness means is no longer attaching the hurt someone caused to that person.  Allowing yourself to look past what that person did to you and have compassion for them-the same compassion God has for you. Forgiveness gives mercy and allows people to be human. When you demonstrate this type of forgiveness you are mimicking God. It’s my desire for others to see his light shine through me. This type of forgiveness takes time and help from God. There have been times where I have had to forgive others even when they didn’t ask. There have also been times where I had to humble myself and ask for forgiveness even when I felt i did nothing wrong.

Start with you, learn to forgive yourself from your past and allow God to begin to work in you. Pray for those who have hurt you and ask God to show you who you may have hurt. As he guides you obey his direction and you will find peace. As I write to motivate and encourage you, I write to encourage and motivate myself. 


bottom of page