top of page

Love God's Way..

2/14/2018

As we celebrate the world's famous Valentine's Day, I am reflecting on what love is exactly. Out with the crowd last night purchasing last minute gifts for my husband and son's classmates I had to stop and reflect. I observed so many people spending money on balloons, cards, and materialistic gifts of all sorts which are representations of the love we have for our loved ones and I also observed chaos as people rushed to take last remained items. That is when I said wait a minute. I had to pause and ask myself, am I getting caught up in all the hype here? I had to reflect on love God's way and love the worlds way. Not gonna lie, Valentine's Day is a perfect excuse to splurge and shower those closest to us with gifts and surprises, and let me tell you it is much appreciated however, love itself, God's idea of love does not limit itself to a single day and moreover is not represented in "things." John 15:13 states, " there is no greater love than a man who laid down his life for a friend." The scripture goes on to tell us that we are to love others the way God loves us and although we may not have to die for someone physically we have to die to ourselves and our own fleshly desires daily. We often hear at marital ceremonies "love is patient, love is kind, it does not envy or boast, love is not proud or rude, love is not self-seeking. Love is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrong. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with truth. Love always protects, trusts and always hopes and perseveres. Love never fails." (1 Corinthians 13:4-8) Love, as it is so well laid out here, tells us that love is an unselfish act, seeking ways to sacrifice ourselves to help others. This type of love seeks daily to serve others and it goes against our natural instincts. This type of unconditional love can only be attained through the help of God. God is the only one that can help us set aside our selfish nature and desires so that we can give and be of service daily all while expecting nothing in return. So today, remember the true definition of love. For God so loved the world that he gave his only son that whosoever believe in him should not perish but have everlasting life(John3:16). God sets the pattern of true love, it reaches out and draws others in. There is a fine line that I must not cross because I am in the world and not of the world. Don't allow this day to bring you into debt, chaos, expectations of materialistic devices that you then base someone's love for you around. Let today be an added day of selfless appreciation and service keeping in the forefront, God is love.

 As I write to encourage, inspire and motivate you, I write to encourage, motivte, and sustain myself.


bottom of page