top of page

What's in Your Closet?


What's in your closet?

You open up the door, pull it back, stare at shirts, jeans, dresses and skirts and say to yourself, "I have nothing to wear." I must admit I do it myself. Not to be taken literally because the fact of the matter is, we have many things to wear but the things in our closet are old, outdated, or if your like me I simply just want something new to put on. In my closet, my physical closet this stands true for me too however in my closet; my intimate place of alone time and time with God I can pull the doors back and say the same thing, " I have nothing to wear". When I am feeling hopeless, tired, mentally drained and overwhelmed (as I often get) I go into my closet looking for something new. The difference between my physical closet where my wardrobe is, if I didn't buy anything new no matter how many times I look I will see the same old things BUT when I enter into my spiritual closet I can always turn the pages of Gods word to find a new revelation that gives me instant hope, peace, joy, and a renewed mind. The bible tells us that when you pray to go into your room, shut the door and pray to the Father who is unseen. Then your Father who sees you, what is done in secret will reward you (Matthew:6:6). I didn't create a prayer closet in my house for show, I created it to drown out the noise and hear from God. I created this space to study his word and cry out to him literally behind closed doors. Sometimes if I look hard and deep enough in my closet, my physical closet, I can find something old and piece it together with something newer and create a new like outfit. The same is true in my spirit. Sometimes God looks at areas of our lives, our old ways, old thoughts and he then gives us new ideas or brings back to our remembrance something of the past and before you know it, you have a new outlook on life or a new idea based on an old thought. Every so often I take time to go through my closet and get rid of old clothes that are collecting dust and taking up space, I make room for the new, that in which I know is coming. In retrospect, every so often I detox my spirit. I take sometime to step back and clear my mind from social media, TV, secular music ect.. to realign myself and rid my body of toxins that cause fog in my life and make room for what I know is coming. God is always talking to me but sometimes my "closet" (inner self, spirit) is filled up with noise and distractions and its too cluttered to hear from him. There's nothing like a closet of clothes where all my jeans are folded and organized by color, all my dresses are hung by length and shoes organized neatly in their proper box, well, there's nothing like a mind that's free from drama, heart that's filled with love and soul that's seeking after Christ and desiring to live holy and tell others about him (Psalms 105:1). God can dust me off and make me look new again!!

All of my needs are met and Matthew 6:32-33 says, "for the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly father knows you need them. But seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you." I am guilty of saying too often as I stare at clothes barley fitting in my drawers, " I have nothing to wear." God is teaching me to shift my thinking and way of being. Paying more attention to all that I do have and thanking him for it. When he his number 1 in our lives everything we need and desire will follow. As I write to encourage and motive you, I write to encourage, motivate and sustain myself.

(Matther 6:6).


bottom of page